In Good Hands

Bryaden_Denver_August 2014I sat back in my seat with a cold diet coke for the second half of a flight home from Colorado. Brayden finally fell asleep after an hour of standing in his seat, smiling at ever pretty girl on the plane, and trying to grab our neighbor’s book. I settled in for one of my HGTV favorites, Property Brothers. At the reveal of a house remodel, the surprised homeowner confessed, “I don’t know why I was so nervous, I was in such good hands.”

Wow. Does God ever speak to you through TV? He did yesterday.

Yesterday, I confessed to Blake that when I struggle with fear, worry and control, I’m really believing that the Lord’s hands aren’t good. That is a lie from Satan. Since Brayden’s surgery, I’ve struggled with being a bit of a hypochondriac. When the 1 in 10,000 hits your family, when you walk down the hospital halls of sick kids, when you see kids comparing scars from brain tumor surgeries in the acupuncturist office…death and sickness feel so close. Yet the Lord says the beginning of wisdom is to number our days. God reminds me that I can’t add a day to my life by worrying.

So often, my feelings dictate my obedience. With just a temptation of fear or worry, I swerve from the narrow path of righteousness to a heart of control. In these moments, I remember that God is always good. As I thought about God’s consistent and trustworthy hands, I heard a song come up on my iTunes library, Your Hands, by JJ Heller: “I have unanswered prayers. I have trouble I wish wasn’t there. I have asked a thousand ways, for you to take my pain away. I am trying to understand, how to walk this weary land. Make straight the paths that crooked lie, Oh Lord, before these feet of mine. When my world is shaking, heaven stands. When my heart is breaking, I never leave your hands.”

I read a great quote by CS Lewis in the Screwtape Letters that has really encouraged my heart… “Do not be deceived, Wormwood. Our cause is never more in danger than when a human, no longer desiring, but still intending to do our Enemy’s will, looks round upon the universe from which every trace of Him seems to have vanished, and asks why he has been forsaken, and still obeys.”IMG_9448

One thought on “In Good Hands

  1. It was so great to see you both yesterday if even for a quick minute!!! Brayden is getting so big, he is such a darling little guy!!! Your posts always touch my heart and spirit. You have so much faith and wisdom young lady!!! I love you!!!

Leave a comment